Editors’ Series: Developing Standards and Methods for the Detection of Aspergillus in Cannabis and Hemp Materials

September 10, 2020
Applied Food Sciences

,
Bio-Rad

,
Medicinal Genomics

,
Invisible Sentinel

Webcast

As regulators move towards requiring AOAC validated methods be used for analysis of cannabis and hemp materials, does your method meet these standards? Join our webinar to find out more! Time and Date: Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

Register free: https://www.cannabissciencetech.com/cst_w/detection

Event Overview:
Aspergillus is one of the most common genus of mold and is ubiquitously found in outdoor environments. Known for its ability to produce mycotoxins and cause human illness, Aspergillus has been identified as an adulterant in cannabis and hemp products. This presentation will outline the development of acceptance criteria for validating Aspergillus detection methods and describe the process that the AOAC Research Institute (AOAC RI) uses to certify methods as validated under the Performance Tested MethodSM (PTM) program. Participants will gain insight into:

  • Aspergillus as a human pathogen
  • Development of AOAC Standard Method Performance Requirements (SMPRs)
  • Validation of Aspergillus methods through the AOAC RI PTM Program

Key Learning Objectives:

  • AOAC INTERNATIONAL’s consensus-based process to developing standards and acceptance criteria
  • Key requirements for AOAC PTM validated methods
  • Current methods involved in the PTM validation process

Speaker: Pat Bird, Principle Consultant, PMB BioTek Consulting, LLC

Sponsor: Applied Food Sciences, Bio-Rad, Medicinal Genomics, Invisible Sentinel

Presented by: AOAC International, Cannabis Analytical Science Program

Time and Date: Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2020 at 11am EDT | 8am PDT | 4pm BST | 5pm CEST

On demand available after airing until  Sept. 30, 2021

Register free: https://www.cannabissciencetech.com/cst_w/detection